Monday, October 31, 2011

Growing Up: Hattie at Two Months

This is what Hattie thinks of me not doing a Two Month post for her:

And perhaps this next photo is her "amazement" look? ;-) Surprised face? Hmmm...
(I *did* take notes, so this is really is what she was doing at two months... even though she's almost 3 months now... LOL.)

At two months...

She's 23.75 inches long

She's 10 pounds 8 ounces.

She's GREAT at holding up her head. She's so strong. ;-)

Doesn't like the Moby for longer than 15-20 minutes. Prefers to be held, facing out... taking it all in. ;-)

Still in 0-3 month clothes, but she can fit into some 3-6 month stuff and can fit into 6-9 month pants (though baggy, but long enough). Yes, long legs. ;-)

Can now kick and grab toys on her activity mat and bouncer. So cute!

She had her first stuffy nose on September 17th. :-(

Doesn't really like being in the stroller, but we're working on it. Doesn't like the carseat either. :-p

Enjoys bath time.

First giggle on September 24th, at 10:15am. (See, I keep track! ;-) )

Always wakes up smiling, giggling and cooing. Even if she just drops her pacifier and wakes up, I'll go in to check on her, and she looks up at me with a HUGE smile and giggles. I give her the pacifier back, and she falls back asleep two minutes later. Silly girl.

She can reach out and grab my glasses and necklaces. I find this hilarious and laugh every time she does it. Hee hee. (I'm thinking once her grasp gets stronger on my necklace, I won't find it that funny... LOL.)

She smiled at her toys for the first time on October 5th, the day before she was two months old. :-)

We're more in love every day. :-)

-October 6, 2011-

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Meeting Mama and Papa.

I'm not really sure why I don't blog more often. I mean, I'm busy, but I can't be *that* busy, right?! LOL. I'm really going to make a point to blog at least a few times a week. I'd really like to. :-)

A couple weeks ago, we took a drive to south Austin to get Coolhaus ice cream sandwiches. And yes, driving 40 minutes for an ice cream sandwich was most definitely worth it. :-D Hattie was indifferent...
Or maybe the sun was just in her eyes. ;-) I did buy her some sunglasses, but they just don't fit her tiny, little head yet. Hopefully, soon. :-)

This last week, my parents came to visit (from Colorado), and they got to meet Hattie for the first time! Hooray! We had to get a "generational" photo. If only my grandma had been there... ;-)

And super-cute Hattie with her sweet Mama:

And silly Papa:

Love this one of the three of them, even though they're looking at me instead of Jeremy with the camera. Tee hee. :-p

It was a nice visit... very laid back and mellow, just the way we like it. :-D

Thursday, October 13, 2011

PhotoBoothing with Hattie at 2 mos.

I thought it was time for Hattie's 2-month PhotoBooh shots. ;-)

I love how totally precious she is in this first one...

I could NOT get her to smile without looking directly at her! Then I remembered that she'll smile when I tickle her chin. Yay!


Two smiles for you guys! Hooray!

And these next two just make me laugh. :-D Tee hee.
*please excuse my "no-makeup-just-woke-up-so-I'm-in-my-jammies" look. ;-)

Look! Pink! LOL. One of only three pink things she owns. All gifts... ;-)

I hope to have her 2-month stats and rundown up soon. And with more photos, I hope! :-D

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

Nothing.

I want for nothing.

I now have everything I've ever wanted.

My life is now complete.

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Showing off.

Since the first week Hattie was born, I've been begging Jeremy to take more photos of her. Yes, yes, I could do it. But Jeremy? Umm... he's amazing. :-) My photos don't do her justice. ;-)

Also, we officially took her stats on Sunday (the 18th) at 6 weeks old:

Weight: 9 lbs 12 oz
Length: 22.5 inches
Measurement around thigh: 6.25 inches (heeeee! so skinny and cute!)

And our beautiful daughter...


She's smiling at *me* here...

*melt*

I know I'm the mom, so I'm biased. But... wow, my girl is gorgeous. *sigh*

And she's mine.

All mine. :-) Okay, and Jeremy's too. ;-)

*sigh*

Monday, September 19, 2011

Touring Hattie's Nursery - Part 2


Some photos of Hattie's nursery. :-)

*Paint color is Benjamin Moore Antiguan Sky.

Shelf (garage sale) of Disney figurines (vintage),
and other vintage lovelies on top. Mother Goose book,
handmade (by a friend) name blocks, vintage baby scale,
vintage Paddington (was hubby's). Basket from Hobby Lobby.
Silk flowers from... the Dollar Tree? Maybe? LOL.

Old crib spring and teeny clothespins holds favorite photos. :)

Another angle. And the crib skirt I made myself! :D
Fabric is Michael Miller.

Mobile was made from Dear Lizzy papers (American Crafts),
some butterfly punched paper, and some random buttons.
All on embroidery floss. Super easy.

I'll try to post the rest of the photos soon... ;-)

Touring Hattie's Nursery

So... I have yet to get photos of Hattie's room, *but* here is a quick video I shot yesterday. I wouldn't say her room is "done" though. I would still like a rug and curtains and a bunting over her crib. And I *really* need to finish the mobile over her changing table. But here's what it looks like as of now: :-)


Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Growing Up: Hattie at One Month

Can it be? Hattie is one month old?! Well, actually she's one month and one week, but I'm a bit slow getting here. Babies, you know, are a lot of work and take a lot of time. ;-) Good work and good time! :-D She's so much fun! :-)

And I so need to learn how to use our DSLR, so I can take more *good* photos. :-) *sigh*

At one month...

She's about 22 inches long. (probably a bit longer... she's very wiggly! LOL!)

She's about 9.5 pounds.

She is long and skinny. I have to sell the cloth diapers I have and buy different ones... because the ones I bought? Apparently, they are not for skinny-legged babies, and sometimes poopy leaks onto her clothes. LOL. (I totally thought she'd be a chubby baby!) Ah well. :-)

(A poopy-looking photo, but I just wanted you
to see how long and skinny she is. Heeee!)

She is finally in 0-3 month clothes. Some are still too big for her though (like the outfit above!). Tee hee.

On September 13th, she had her first *real* smile (as in, woke up in the morning, I said, "Hi, Baby Girl!!" And she smiled right at me. ;-) ).

She's such a great sleeper...
(This photo is during a nap, while I was right there.
At night, she's swaddled and on her back. And yes,
you do see yellow, orange and green. Pink is not her color. ;-) )

She's pretty much like clock-work: cat nap around 6 or 7pm, falls asleep at 11:30pm, wakes up at noon. I nurse her around 4:30am or so, and she stays asleep. She then wakes up around 8:30 or 9am to nurse again, then back to sleep till noon.

She does not like a pacifier unless she's sleeping or falling asleep. I didn't want her to have one at all, but sometimes she just needs to suck... and she's not hungry, so I won't do. She gets it, calms herself, then spits it out. :-)

She is SUCH a content baby. She only cries at night when she's super tired and doesn't nap well that day. And *sometimes* she cries when she's hungry... if I'm not fast enough getting ready for her. LOL. :-p

She wakes up in the morning (and from her naps), and she's in such a great mood. Just lies there, taking it all in. She doesn't cry... she stretches and looks around for a bit. I hang out with her for a few minutes before I pick her up. She's so happy. :-)

Loves being in the Moby wrap and helping me cook...

Loves to have her hands up by her face.

Loves tummy time (we started this at five-six days old, a day or two after her umbilical cord fell off). On the boppy, she's getting so strong on her tummy that she can push off with her feet and arms and fall forward onto her head... that is, if I'm not there to catch her. LOL. It's never actually happened, but I know it would if I walked away. (eek!)

Has a *super* strong head, and she can hold it up during tummy time and when I'm just carrying her around.

Is close to rolling over from back to tummy. She can do it with just a nudge from me. ;-)

She is so captivated by the telephone, and she loves when my mom or dad or Jeremy are on the other line (on speaker phone). :-)

She loves music! She has very eclectic tastes though... U2, Point of Grace and Raffi seem to be current favorites. ;-)

She had her first trip to The Container Store on September 4th! She LOVED it! Okay... she was asleep the whole time. LOL. But *I* really enjoyed showing her off to my co-workers. :-) And yes, *of course* I got a photo! That has to be documented. ;-)

I'll try to update more often. I really must have Jeremy (or someone...) teach me how to use the good camera. LOL.

Until next time... :-D

Friday, August 26, 2011

Sharing the Photos!

Our photographer put the photos up on her blog! Hooray! You can also visit her Facebook fan page for more (you will need to "Like" her page to comment). We are so blessed that she was able to do this for us. Such a blessing. :-)

(The photos that are not in the hospital are all taken in our bedroom.)

Here are some of my favorites...

He really was the most amazing coach ever. I couldn't have asked for a better husband. I'm in awe of him.

I love that this shot is candid. It looks posed, and she captured it perfectly...
*sigh* It nearly brings tears to my eyes. He was so supportive... glued to my side the whole time. :-)

And the first time I saw our sweet girl...
*sigh*

Amazing, right? Leilani is amazing. :-)

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

PhotoBoothing with Hattie

Hattie thought it would be fun to play with PhotoBooth today, and I was happy to oblige. ;-)




And apparently, three photos was her limit...

And yes, my scrap room is kinda messy right now. I have been doing much more important things. ;-)

We're doing pretty well. Hattie is a great eater and sleeper. She also can burp with the best of 'em! ;-) Jeremy and I are planning to do a cute baby photo shoot soon. I hope it's *very* soon! Heee!

We're so in love with her. Totally smitten. :-)

p.s. Our photographer will have Hattie's Birthday photos up soon! Hooray! :-)

Thursday, August 18, 2011

Sharing Our Birth Story

I guess I was thinking that I'd share my birth story sooner. I'm not sure why I thought that. I guess I expected to be my normal self sooner. Ah well. Twelve days isn't too shabby, right? ;-) And for those of you who know me personally, you know I'm long-winded and detail-oriented, and it shouldn't surprise you that this is quite long.

For those of you who don't know me, well... I guess you'll get to know me much better after this. ;-)

Also... we planned to have a home-birth. If this upsets you or offends you in any way, I urge you to not read our story. I did end up delivering our daughter in the hospital, however. If you have any negative comments or things to say that are not positive regarding this situation, please do not share them with me. I'm quite sensitive to this, and since I just gave birth and am quite tired and emotional, it probably would make me cry. Thank you for your understanding. :-)

*Photo by Jeremy Klein.



Hattie Camille's Birth Story
A little pre-story...

Thursday, August 4, 2011

I woke up early on that Thursday. I got up for a bit, ate some breakfast, then decided to take a small nap before I had to take my best friend (Camille) to the airport. So I slept, brought her to the airport, then came back home and decided to take another nap. (Go me!)

At this point, I was SUPER proud of myself. I'm really not a big fan of naps, and that day, I was tired enough to take TWO. I was stoked. I woke up around 5pm and realized that the baby consignment sale was starting in one hour. I could make it!

I was considered a VIP (Very Important Pregger), since I was pregnant with my first. I made it on time and waited around till they told us we could line up. I got a pleasant surprise when they announced that the "Most Pregnant Woman" got to be in line first. Uhh... at five days past my due date, I pretty much was a shoe in. ;-)

Woman working at sale: So when is your due date?

Me: July 30th

Woman working at sale: Uhhh... as in... the July 30th that was five days ago?

Me: Mmhmm... that would be the one! ;-)

Woman working at sale: WOW! You *do* deserve to be first! What are you doing here? Why aren't you at home with your feet up?

Me: Tee hee. I've had my feet up for two weeks! I needed to get OUT! :-D

So... I walked around the sale and found all the things I wanted/needed. (Score!) As I was leaving, a woman called out to me, "Hey, after all this walking, I'll bet you go into labor tonight!"

I chuckled. Mmkay, Lady. Sure. ;-)

I was having Braxton Hicks pretty much the entire time I was at the sale. They *did* feel pretty constant, but they weren't real contractions. I went home and laid around, watched some Friends, cleaned up a bit.

Around 10pm, the Braxton Hicks seemed to be increasing, so I sat down to rest and watch the finale of The Bachelorette (please no judging... ;-). Around midnight, I started having small contractions. They were about 5-10 minutes apart, and nothing to write home about. I remember thinking that labor could start and stop, so this wasn't necessarily the sign of impending labor.

Friday, August 5, 2011

Jeremy arrived home around midnight, I think.

At 1am, I decided to call Debra (my midwife) and let her know that my contractions had started, weren't very strong or painful, and I was lying down to get sleep. I only slept for two hours, but it was nice that I was able to fall asleep. :-) I was very happy that I had taken those *two* naps the day before. My body must have known. ;-)

Around 3am, I woke up, ate some chicken salad (mmm... chicken salad...), and did a few things around the house... just in case this *was* labor, I wanted to make sure everything was in order. I was pretty organized, and we had been keeping the house very clean, but there were just a few things I wanted to do.

Then at 5:30, my contractions started to get a bit stronger (still not painful), so I thought it would be a good idea to get some more rest. I think I may have taken some Benadryl to help me sleep. And I went in the guest bedroom because that's a more comfy bed (it used to be our mattress). Tee hee. Jeremy slept on the floor next to me, and we slept till 11am.

I got up, did some more things around the house, and then went to the bathroom. I noticed that I was starting to lose my mucous plug. It's possible at this point, that I was like, "Whoa! Could this be it? Could I go into active labor today?!" But I still tried not to get my hopes up. :-)

At noon, I ate two eggs and an apple. My contractions had slowed to seven minutes apart, and they weren't painful, so I sent Jeremy off to work. LOL. He was like, "Uhh... really? Are you sure? Will you be okay?" His job for the day was only 20 minutes away, so I wasn't worried.

"Of course I'll be okay!" Famous last words, yes? ;-)

I decided to take a nice, relaxing bath. About an hour later, my contractions started to pick up. At 1:30, they were getting a bit painful, were 2-4 minutes apart and 60 seconds long. I called Debra to let her know my progress, but told her I didn't think she needed to be there yet. (In hindsight... this was dumb. LOL.) I'm pretty sure at this point, I decided to call Leilani (our photographer) to give her a head's up. She said she'd be there at 7pm. I thought that sounded good.

I had a little snack, lost more of my mucous plug, and called Jeremy around 2pm. I felt kinda bad that he had only been at his job-site for two hours, but I told him I needed him to come home. (Debra was pretty shocked I had sent him off to work. Oops! This is what I get for not getting my hopes up! LOL. I was trying to stay relaxed, and therefore, tell myself that labor was *not* starting soon. LOL. Ah well. :-p )

Then I got in the shower, because when contractions are starting to get painful, showers feel SOOOOOO nice. My former gymnastics coach (and now, close friend) had texted me earlier and, jokingly, told me to stop the handstands for the day. Tee hee. She mentioned something about straddle-press handstands, and while in the shower, that thought made me giggle. BUT... it also sounded like it may help. I stood up in my straddle, bent over and put my hands flat on the shower floor. No, I wasn't planning on doing a straddle press to handstand, but I did rock back and forth from my feet to my hands... like I was getting ready to. This was actually really helpful through contractions! Yay for gymnastics! ;-)

Jeremy had to wait to be relieved at his job-site, so he finally arrived home around 3:30pm. I wanted to keep busy, so I threw in some laundry while Jeremy blew up the birthing tub. I lost more of mucous plug at this point too.

Contractions were the same, so I decided to get back in the bath tub. Mmm... warm water. :-) After being in there an hour or so, my water broke in the tub. How convenient! (And cool to watch! LOL. ;-) ). It was 5pm at this point, and after my water broke, my contractions definitely started to pick up. Cue active labor! ;-)

Jeremy called Debra and told her about my water breaking. I could hear her on the phone, "Don't you think it's about time I came over?" And Jeremy said emphatically, "Yes, please!" LOL.

I'm really not sure of everything that transpired in the next 90 minutes before Debra arrived at around 6:00 or 6:30pm. It's pretty much a blur. I *did* call Leilani to let her know to come soon, so she could get *some* photos before things got too painful for me. And I did get into the birthing tub, which we couldn't keep warm enough... because there were only two of us. Oops. (Yes, should have called the midwife team sooner. Note to self for next time... ;-) )

And things progressed pretty normally from there. I'm really not sure of the timeline over the next four hours, but I do remember pretty much what happened. I didn't look at the clock, and I didn't ask. I felt like I had a pretty good hold on contractions until transition. I mean, yes, they were very painful, but Jeremy was an AMAZING coach. And I'm pretty sure that somewhere between 7 and 8pm, the rest of our midwife team arrived: Mary (a CNM) and Kate (their apprentice/midwife-in-training).

I moved around from the bed to the shower. I'm not really sure why I never got back into the birthing tub. I felt very focused, and I did whatever Jeremy and my team suggested. Once I was at 5-6 cm, Debra noticed a tinge of meconium in my amniotic fluid. It was super thin, and therefore, nothing to be concerned about. They weren't worried, so I wasn't worried.

I remember Mary and Debra saying, "You're only at 5-6 cm, so you have a while to go yet." And I remember thinking, "You have GOT to be kidding me! A while?!??! What does that mean? I'm in pain here!" LOL.

I think another hour passed, and I was still at 5-6 cm. They thought this was because the baby was posterior, so I labored a bit in three different positions before they checked me again. After laboring in those three positions, the baby had spun to an anterior position! (Hooray for the midwives' expertise!) I remember it feeling really nice when Jeremy or Kate pushed on my back during contractions. My legs were really hurting, and Kate massaged those during contractions, which took a bit of the edge off.

So I must have hit transition while the baby was spinning to anterior. I don't remember thinking, "Oh, this must be transition!" because, like I said, I was super-focused. But now, looking back at that time where instead of doing my low-deep-voiced moans (like they suggested...) during contractions, I was pretty much screaming... I'm guessing that was transition. ;-) And yes, wow, that was definitely the most painful part of the entire labor. WOW. I do remember thinking how amazing Jeremy was being and how blessed I felt to be lying in his arms while going through that horrid pain.

And just like that... they said, "10 cm!" I couldn't believe it! It felt like it flew by, honestly. :-) I tried a few different pushing positions, and I pushed for almost an hour. At that time (unbeknownst to me), thick meconium had come out in my amniotic fluid. I watched as Mary and Debra walked away to talk for a bit. They came back and told me we had to get to the hospital... just in case the baby had aspirated any meconium. It's always better to be safe than sorry.

I didn't argue. It didn't phase me, really. I wasn't upset. I was a bit worried how I'd get dressed, get in the car, and have to labor and push in the back of our Jeep. LOL. I visualized myself doing it all before I actually did it. I guess that helped.

I was on all-fours in the backseat, with Debra behind me. Jeremy was driving. Debra said, "Now, Jeremy... *don't* run any red lights!" And I replied, "WHAT?!?! WHY NOT?!??!" LOL. I just wanted to be out of the car as soon as possible. The hospital was only 2 miles away, so calling an ambulance really wouldn't have gotten us there any faster. There *was* traffic at 10:30 at night that Friday. *sigh* I remember thinking, "Why don't these cars MOVE?! Don't they know I have a baby coming out of me?!" LOL. Tee hee.

The drive felt like it took forever. I finally got there, climbed out of the car, walked inside, and sat in a wheelchair. The guy wheeled me (Jeremy walking behind us) up to Labor & Delivery, where I was the only woman in labor, and a HUGE team was at a nursing station waiting for me. Seriously, there were like 10-15 people! I'm sure they have everyone on standby in that ward. LOL.

I was SO glad that I just got to climb into a bed. No ugly gown. I kept on my own nightgown. No tests. No questions. I was glad they were leaving me be. That felt nice. Well, you know... as nice as it can be when you're trying to push a 7.5 pound baby out of your body. ;-) I pushed for an hour-ish more, once I got there. That felt like a long time to me, but it felt good to push. It didn't hurt nearly as bad as all the labor leading up to this point.

The hospital staff was awesome. They let me push in several positions, and they didn't break the bed down. I had Debra coaching me in my left ear. Jeremy was on my right. It was so awesome to have Debra there. She knew exactly what to say and when to say it, and that was a tremendous help.

Saturday, August 6, 2011

Debra said to the team of nurses and doctors, "Now Everyone, DON'T tell Jeremy and Reyanna the sex of the baby. THEY want to find out for themselves!" Between contractions (I pushed for each one), I had no pain and was perfectly calm. We even talked and joked sometimes between them. I joked, "I think the baby is a boy, and today, August 5th, is my dad's birthday! That would be neat!" So everyone was saying things like, "He's almost here! Let's get him before midnight! You almost have your son!"

As the baby was crowning, they let me feel the head. Very strange. LOL. Did not feel like a baby's head. Tee hee. But I'm glad I got the experience. I had my eyes closed for each contraction because I was so very focused. When the baby came out, it honestly felt like I exploded. LOL. I didn't open my eyes until a few seconds later. (She was born at 12:10am on Saturday, August 6th. She didn't make it in time for my dad's birthday, but I was glad she was born on the 6th... so we have my mom's birthday on the 4th, my dad's birthday on the 5th, and Hattie on the 6th. :-D )

When I finally *did* open my eyes, they had taken the baby across the room to make sure he/she had no meconium in his/her lungs. Debra said to me, "They're just taking him over there to suction his lungs." And I thought, "Aw man! She just told everyone not to tell me the sex of the baby, then she goes and tells me! GAH!" LOL. But I ignored that and said to Jeremy, "Go see the baby! Come back and tell me if it's a boy or a girl."

As he walked over there, I heard our baby coughing and screaming. They remarked how amazing it was that our baby coughed. Apparently, babies don't usually cough right after they're born. (Our baby is so awesome! ;-) ) This was a great thing though! Coughed up everything it had in there! And we were told the baby was perfectly fine... no meconium! HOORAY!

I watched Jeremy look at our precious baby. I loved the look on his face. I was so glad that Leilani was there to capture this for us. He had this HUGE smile on his face. He was enjoying whatever he was looking at. He turned and walked toward me, still this huge smile on his face.

He leaned down to my right ear.

"It's a girl........" he whispered slowly.

Goosebumps ran over my entire body. They still do as I think of that moment. And with a HUGE smile on my face... and in complete and utter disbelief, I said, "Noooooo....... A girl?! I can't believe it! We have a GIRL?!" The whole delivery room burst out laughing. A few seconds went by, and I said, "I can't believe it! A GIRL?!?!!" Everyone laughed again. I think for the next hour, I said, "A girl?! Really?! I can't believe it!" LOL.

We had our daughter. The one we prayed long and hard for. We were beyond excited, and we were SO glad we waited for this surprise. Truly, the best surprise EVER! They brought her to me within minutes, and we just got to stare at her. She looked exactly like Jeremy when Jeremy was a baby.

The hospital staff asked, "What's her name?" And Jeremy replied, "Hattie!" And I said, "WAIT! NO! I have to spend time with her first! We have to talk about this!" LOL. It didn't take long though. I ran through the other names in my head, but she was a Hattie. Hattie Camille. It really did fit her perfectly, and I was glad that name was the favorite for both of us.

Hattie was perfect. She was 7 pounds, 10 ounces and 20 inches long. Her APGAR scores were 8 and 9, and she had no jaundice and no meconium in her lungs or stomach.

After Hattie was born, I had two cups of Jell-O, two cups of pudding, and some juice. I was feeling tired, but pretty much okay. A few hours later, I got into a wheelchair to go to the bathroom. They wheeled me three feet away from the bed, and I felt like I was going to pass out. I promptly told the nurses. "Are you sure?" they asked. "Yes, I'm sure! I'm going to pass out!" And... I did. I guess I was out for a minute or two. They had to bring in the ammonia to make sure I stopped passing out because I was in and out of consciousness. I felt really crappy at that point.

After I was okay, and they were sure I wasn't going to pass out again, they told me they were going to put me back into bed. They wheeled me back those three feet, and I announced I had to throw up. They got the bag there just in time. *sigh* And I threw up. A lot. I felt like I couldn't stop throwing up, actually. It was a horrible feeling. They decided to give me some medication to stop the vomiting. And I'm pretty sure I passed out again after that... this time in my bed, and I think I may have slept for a couple hours.

I felt a bit better after waking up, but still pretty out of it. I remember thinking, "Where am I? Is this the same room I gave birth in? Where's Hattie? Oh, good. Jeremy has Hattie." :-) (She was in our room the whole time, and she never left our sight.) My body just doesn't handle physical stress well. I ate well in the hospital, and I really took it easy. My blood levels weren't staying stable, but they released me anyway... with strict instructions to keep up on vitamins, iron, and rest.

It was a hard recovery at home too over the next week. But Jeremy took GREAT care of me! I'm so blessed to have such a wonderful husband... he brought me water, food, did laundry, cooking, cleaning, took care of the baby when I needed to rest. We also had friends from church who brought us meals when we needed them. I still nursed through this time, and it was really rough. I was very weak and dizzy, and I had choreiac episodes that were scary too.

It took me a bit to recover, but I recovered well. We have wonderful friends and family who all pitched in to help. It was amazing to have that support. :-)

And from the time my water broke and I started active labor, till Hattie was born, it was only seven hours (including 2.5 hours of pushing)! Yeah!

I understand that planning a home-birth isn't for everyone. As I look back on our experience, I can't help but wonder, "Would I do anything differently? Would I change something? If I knew I was going to end up in the hospital, would I plan a hospital birth from the start?"

And I can say with confidence... No. I wouldn't change a thing. I loved our midwife team. I loved being able to spend 60-90 minutes with them at each prenatal visit. I loved the support, encouragement, and expertise they brought to this experience. I love that with everything that happened, I was still able to have a natural, unmedicated childbirth.

I loved being able to labor at home. Transferring to the hospital while being 10 cm was not ideal, but I would not have wanted to transfer when my water broke or I was 5-6 cm... having to labor for hours in the uncomfortable atmosphere that a hospital provides me. And I certainly wouldn't have wanted to transfer during transition. We did what was right for our family. And everything turned out perfectly. :-)

*Again... If you have any negative comments or things to say that are not positive regarding this situation, please do not share them with me. I'm quite sensitive to this, and since I just gave birth and am quite tired and emotional, it probably would make me cry. Thank you for your understanding. :-) And thank you to everyone for your support and encouragement throughout my pregnancy!

Wednesday, August 17, 2011

Announcing...


The birth of our daughter...

Hattie Camille
born August 6, 2011
12:10 am
7 pounds, 10 ounces
20 inches
perfect in every way

Ruby meeting Hattie.

A Longhorn fan already... ;-)

And we're so in love. :-)

*Birth story will be posted tomorrow morning.

Wednesday, August 10, 2011

A Note.

Hi there!

You don't know me. I'm brand new.

I'm keeping my mommy very busy right now. She hasn't been feeling well, but she'll be back when she can... to update more about my arrival. :-) Please keep us in your thoughts and prayers.

Love,

Hattie

Wednesday, August 3, 2011

Celebrating 30 Years... for both of us!

So I really had planned on making an epic Golden Birthday post. Umm... notsomuch. I didn't even *post* on our birthday.

*sigh*

We did have a great day though... baby or no baby. ;-) We decided to hit up Torchy's, which is one of our favorite places in Austin. I was so glad my bff, Camille (who flew in from Rhode Island!!) could be there too. She finally got to have some Tex-Mex, and it was her first taco on corn tortillas. Umm... yes. I would say she's a Tex-Mex virgin, for sure! ;-)

Then we went to Big Top, which we LOVE. Jeremy and I hadn't been there in quite a while, so it was great to go! Jeremy took this neat photo of the chocolate cases:
We didn't get candy though (shocking, I know!), but we mainly go there for the old-fashioned soda fountain. Camille got the most delicious limeade EVER (Sonic who? ;-) ), Jeremy got a cherry limeade, and I got a coconut Italian creme soda... all of which were amazing! :-) And I may or may not be having a serious love-affair with anything coconut right now. Just sayin. ;-)

Can't have a birthday without cupcakes, right?! I was stoked that we were able to stop by Delish, which has gluten-free cupcakes... just for me! Okay, not *just* for me. Tee hee. But wow, they are DELISH! (No pun intended.... okay, it was intended because I'm not one to actually *say* "delish," but they really were delicious! :-D )
Jeremy and I didn't even get a photo of us together on our 30th birthday on the 30th. LOL. We'll try to remedy that today... four days later. No worries. :-) But Camille and I *were* able to get a photo. Yay!
I did get one recent shot of Jeremy. Umm... I'm not sure what he'd say about me posting his bum (a very nice bum, mind you ;-) ) for all of the internet to see, but this photo is just too funny...

He doesn't *usually* climb in their carrier (our euphemism for "crate" ;-) ), but he did this to cuddle with Ruby... and it was too funny when he did this the other day. I had to take a photo. Amber is looking on, saying, "What the heck is going on around here?!?!" Tee hee. :-)
So... that was our birthday! Yay! I usually do a birthday post about how Jeremy and I were born on the same day. You can see last year's here. But this year, I just wanted to show pictures of what we did. Fun, yes? ;-)

And... no baby yet. I'm really not worried or stressed or anything. Don't worry. I mean, yes, I'm getting uncomfortable, but not miserable. I am feeling chubby and pregnant at this point. LOL. But it certainly doesn't feel unmanageable or "I'm ready to be done!" No, nothing like that. Just patiently waiting. :-) Yes, I can't WAIT to meet this sweet baby. He/she will arrive when he/she is ready! :-D

As for the Texas heat, and this summer being on its way to being our hottest ever... I can honestly say it's not fazing me. LOL. I LOOOOOVE the heat! Seriously, every day, I just spend time hanging out on our porch. I love it so much. :-) It doesn't feel any different to me... you know, having this extra 42 pounds or whatever. It still feels glorious. And I'm not all *that* strange. Camille feels the same way. At least we're in good company! ;-)

And since I haven't shown photos of the baby's room in its completion yet, I thought I'd share some art I made. :-) I know there are tons of these on the internet... usually done with hearts or butterflies, like this one here. But I thought doing it with Mickeys would be wicked cool. :-)

This is the "if it's a boy" version:
And the "if it's a girl" version:
It's actually the same piece of art, but the peach Mickeys are covered up with charcoal Mickeys. Tee hee. :-p These were just SUPER quick photos I snapped. I'll take better ones when I post photos of the room.

The room is *pretty* much done. The side table doesn't have knobs/pulls. And two of the containers in the closet don't have labels (*gasp*). And the mobile above the changing station isn't done. But really, that's it! I'm SOOOO excited to show you the room! I'm loving how it turned out.

Soon. Very soon. :-) I'll try to get hubby to take them tonight... providing I'm not like... you know, giving birth or something. ;-)

Sunday, July 24, 2011

Polling the Audience.


Well, less than one week away from my EDD (July 30th). I kinda have this feeling I'm going to go over, but since it's our birthday, of course we're keeping our fingers crossed. ;-) And then when we heard about this couple, we even *moreso* are keeping our fingers crossed. See? It could happen! ;-)

So... let the guessing game begin! I set up a poll on the side there ------------------->
... if you want to take a guess on whether it will be a boy or a girl.

And if you want to guess on birthdate, weight, length, that'd be fun too! I can't guarantee you'll win something because after Baby K arrives, I'm pretty sure I'll be busy and tired. ;-) But hey, I could make something happen for one of you if you get several right! :-D

I'm just so excited to meet this little one. Such a surreal feeling. VERY surreal.